A spacy stay at Heathrow

Tired of getting up at 3 am to reach that early morning flight? I know I am. So when on a recent journey, I had yet another very early flight leaving from London’s Heathrow airport, I thought I might give Yotel a go. As a bonus, I got a chance to indulge in one of my little travel hobbies, wonderfully weird sleeping quarters.

Yotel Heathrow review

Yotel, you ask? A hip-hop hotel, is it? Well, maybe not hip-hop, but certainly fun to try.

The Yotel concept was thought up by Simon Woodcroffe of Yo! (you know, Yo! Sushi, Yo! Home, Yo! Zone) – and Dragon’s Den fame (for you American readers, that’s the UK equivalent of Shark Tank). Woodcroffe’s idea was to provide a flexible and convenient hotel experience at affordable prices. His inspiration?

I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to the sleeper bed in British Airways first class. I went to sleep with the conundrum of how to make a Japanese capsule hotel acceptable in the west and woke up realising the solution was around me: all I needed to do was find the designer of the BA first class cabin and ask them to help me design a hotel….

Yotel in short: Cleverly designed cabins are available in the airport terminal for all sorts of fun things that you might want privacy for: taking a shower, working, eating, sleeping… The compact cabins come in Standard (single) or Premium (double or twin), and can be booked for just a few hours, or for the night. Check-out times are completely flexible.

Yotel Heathrow review

At check-in, I normally would have punched my reservation number into the machine at the entrance – just like checking in for flights. This night, the machine malfunctions. No worries, though – the friendly staff at Mission Control takes care of everything and tells me all I need to know.

As I wander along the corridor to my designated space, the purple lighting adds to the feel of being on MIR.

Inside my cabin is a capsule bed with a TV, a fold-away table, a folding chair, and, not least, plenty of power outlets suitable for both UK and standard European plugs. The ensuite bathroom has all I need; a delicious rain shower, sink, toilet, soap/shampoo dispensers and lovely, large towels.

Yotel, shower head

What I liked:

  • The monsoon rain shower
  • The comfortable bed, crawling into a cosy cubbyhole to watch TV
  • The free wifi
  • No electrical adapters required
  • Complimentary water and hot drinks brought to the cabin 24/7
  • A decent selection of meals and snacks available through room service, at affordable prices.

Room for improvement:

Yotel pretty much lived up to my expectations: a small, functional area for a night’s (or a few hours’) rest before a flight. The space was generally well used. I would have preferred an extra coat hanger, or at least another hook or two (e.g. on the door) to hang clothes. Easy enough to fix.

Also, Heathrow is a huge airport; the bus between e.g. terminals 4 and 5 takes 15 – 20 minutes. Unless you’re leaving from terminal 4, you do lose some of the convenience.

Yotel practicals

  • Yotel at LHR is located in Terminal 4, in the public area at the mezzanine level – signposted and easy to find.
  • Prices: From GBP 50 for 4 hrs/GBP 65 for 8 hours for a standard cabin. This is essentially a single cabin, or at most for one adult and one small child. Premium (double bed) or twin (two bunk beds) cabins cost GBP 67 for 4 hrs/GBP 91 for 8 hours.

Disclosure: I paid a reduced rate at Yotel for review purposes. All opinions are mine, as ever.

23 Responses to “A spacy stay at Heathrow”

  1. Jackie Smith 23 November 2013 1952 #

    This is a most helpful post! We will keep this in mind on one of our longer layovers there. Thanks for including the price range – that is always useful!
    Jackie Smith recently posted..Simply ‘Feelin’ Groovy’ in Scottsdale

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 25 November 2013 0726 #

      Thank you :)

  2. Mette 24 November 2013 1623 #

    What a brilliant idea. There’s always a need for somewhere to sleep at intercont airports. Though I am not sure I’d call it inexpensive
    Mette recently posted..Facts about Colosseum

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 25 November 2013 0726 #

      Relatively inexpensive. For London, that is.

  3. Megan 24 November 2013 2046 #

    id love to crash somewhere like this. it’s so perfect when airports offer accommodation like this….there would have been so many times i would use it (although never have been overnight in london that i can recall…)

    i saw a yotel in the middle of NYC when i was there and never knew this was the concept! im kind of intrigued now! i hate hotels that offer more than what i need. i just like the basics….i very rarely am in the room anyways when im traveling!
    Megan recently posted..Abandoned Abkhazia: A Black and White Photo Essay

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 25 November 2013 0727 #

      I agree, a comfortable bed and a bathroom is mostly all I need as well.

  4. Jeff 25 November 2013 0811 #

    What an amazing thing! this is the best idea ever. Yotel is something i will consider from now on.

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1129 #

      Glad to hear it.

  5. Mellisa Turner 26 November 2013 0837 #

    Very useful post, Anne ! I am also lazy to wake up early in the morning, even if it is the case of an important flight.

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1130 #

      Something about getting up at 3 or 4. Unnatural.

  6. Marcia 27 November 2013 1332 #

    Interesting, didn’t realize they had one at Heathrow. Very convenient, especially for those crazy early morning flights.

    There’s a Yotel near Times Square that one of my clients stayed at recently. She didn’t care for it much but it was very convenient to where we needed to do business.
    Marcia recently posted..Jerk Roast Turkey for Thanksgiving

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1132 #

      Not sure how this would work outside of an airport. Would be interesting to see if it looked the same…

  7. Kathryn 30 November 2013 1613 #

    This is awesome. I never would’ve thought of looking for a capsule type hotel outside of Japan.
    Kathryn recently posted..25 Best Street Foods Under $1

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1133 #

      Small world :)

  8. Leigh 1 December 2013 1715 #

    This is a brilliant idea especially for an airport like Heathrow where you might have a 6-12 hour layover.
    Leigh recently posted..A Farm Tour at La Anita Rainforest Ranch in Costa Rica

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1133 #

      Brilliant indeed.

  9. Sand In My Suitcase 1 December 2013 1838 #

    We’ve stayed at the Heathrow Yotel (when flying in from North America and before connecting on to some other flight) – highly recommend it! These yotels are great ideas, especially if you only have a few hours’ layover (maybe during the day) but you badly need some sleep and a shower. Now, we’d prefer to stay at the Sofitel at the Heathrow Airport – but hey, when you can’t afford that, the Yotel is a pretty good substitute :-).
    Sand In My Suitcase recently posted..Romancing The Palms: Zanzibar hotel with a heart

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1135 #

      Also depends on which terminal one is at, I think, since it’s quite a long distance between them.

  10. Michele {Malaysian Meanders} 3 December 2013 0247 #

    After reading this, I’m kind of hoping for a long layover sometime at Heathrow just for the novelty of trying this out. I wonder if my tall hubby could squeeze into one of the beds or if he’d have to curl up.
    Michele {Malaysian Meanders} recently posted..An American Thanksgiving in Penang

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 3 December 2013 1136 #

      I think the premium cabins might have a different style bed, so perhaps that might work better for the long-legged amongst us.

  11. Adam 9 December 2013 0406 #

    Jealous that you stayed here! I didn’t think about it until it was too late, but I had such an early flight out of London one morning it definitely would’ve made sense to stay at a pod hotel at the airport rather than another night’s accommodation in central London!

  12. Marysia @ My Travel Affairs 1 January 2014 2340 #

    I have seen those couple of times and though about how cool it would be to check it out! I have seen somewhere, not sure where now, just one sleeping box you could rent right now but putting your credit card in the door. Too cool!
    Marysia @ My Travel Affairs recently posted..Lucerne Lovely Light

    • Anne-Sophie Redisch 2 January 2014 1539 #

      I do like trying new and unusual accommodations.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

css.php